What Is ETIAS? And Who Needs To Register For It?

ETIAS, known as the European Travel Information and Authorization System is the new travel regulations introduced by the European Union for countries who enjoy visa-free travel in the continent. There are currently 61 countries in the world that are allowed to visit the European nations without going through visa hassles as the continent provides these citizens to travel through the continent without a visa. But this is soon going to stop as European Union has come up with a brand new plan for these visitors.

https://www.etia.com/ is the new visa-waiver system that permits you to visit any of the European countries that falls under the Schengen Border for a period of 90 days without a visa. There are a total of 26 countries that are a part of Schengen border including Italy, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Iceland, Hungary etc.

Only the 61 countries in the world were allowed to roam visa free through these countries. The rest of the world needed a visa to enter Europe. ETIAS will not affect the remaining countries’ citizens in any manner. The travel procedures would be the same for them as they were before.

People planning to visit Europe will soon have to apply for their ETIAS as the continent will not be allowing them to enter without it after the compulsion of the new visa-waiver system. To apply for the ETIAS you will have to visit the official site of ETIAS, there you will be asked to fill out an application form with all your basic details. These details would be the same as on your passport. The necessary field include your name, date of birth, place of birth, your country, gender, nationality etc.


The form will be of just 7 euros but only if you are an adult that doesn’t qualify for a minor or an old-age person. Minors and old-age people will also be required to have their own ETIAS, and for them the cost of the application is absolutely free. They are believed to be pocket-friendly.

Only few things are needed when you want to register for ETIAS:

  • A Debit or Credit card to pay the payment that is 7 euros.
  • A valid passport
  • Other documents and background biographical information


This European Travel and Information Authorization System is introduced in order to protect the countries falling into the Schengen border. These travel regulations will help the government in handling the immigration issues more effectively. Almost everybody will get their ETIAS approved instantly. Once approved it will be valid for your 90 day visit into the European countries. The validity of the ETIAS will be three years but in case the validity of your passport expires before the ETIAS then your ETIAS would be of no use.

ETIAS will be effective from 2012. However, the concept was first introduced in the year 2018 but after 3 years it will finally be in action. ETIAS remain valid only if your purpose of visiting is related to traveling, business or transit. You can not use this new visa-waiver system to visit Europe for education and jobs purposes. Make sure you have a verified ETIAS before you decide the European countries because travel without it will be prohibited in the near future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *